Skip to Main Content
Nintex Ideas

đź‘‹ Use this site to provide feedback and ideas for all Nintex Products. See our post on Nintex Community "Welcome to Nintex Ideas" for more details on Nintex Ideas, how an idea is handled by our product teams and more!


If you are looking for the Nintex roadmap, you can find that on Nintex Community

If you have questions about Nintex Ideas, please contact ideas@nintex.com

If you require support, please visit Nintex Customer Central

If you have a sales inquiry, please contact sales@nintex.com

Categories Workflow Designer
Created by Brandi Woodson
Created on Feb 9, 2023

Workflow Production Publishing & Default Assigned Use

Assigned Use:

Please change default value for assigned use when publishing to DEVELOPMENT. Why would anyone publish straight to Production, that behavior didn't exist in Nintex Workflow for Office 365, it was defaulted to Development and users would be required to change it to Production when ready.

Note: This results in premature publishing requests by some of our designers not paying attention. This also causes issues for those who do have rights to publish, it's easy to overlook and accidentally publish to production since it's set as the default value. We need to ensure production vs development is always accurate for when active incidents arise, we know how many workflows could be impacted.

Workflow publishing settings:

Please add an additional setting in workflow publishing that only authorizes users (Designers or Developers) to publish production workflows where they are naturally listed as a Workflow Owner where the system doesn't automatically add those users or groups as a workflow owner.


Challenge: The current settings are fine as-is IF we wanted everyone who we allow to publish production workflows to publish all and any workflows in the entire TENANT. This is a major security concern, just because we want to give freedom to a Designer to publish on their own, does not mean we want them publishing on behalf of the entire company. Currently all users in the group we allow to publish, have authority to publish because the system automatically adds the group to the workflow owner field upon the "request publish" button being pushed by a user with no authority to publish.

Intent/desired result: - Our goal is to allow "select users" with the ability to publish production workflows on their own who have advanced skill sets so they don't have to wait to publish to production. Those users should not be added by the system automatically in the workflow owner field to every single workflow created by another user who doesn't have authority and pushed the "request publish" button.

  • Attach files